Posted by: modernpolitic | October 3, 2009

Defending the dream

Just finished two days of American For Prosperty’s “Defending The Dream” summit and now I’m wondering why I bothered with the last month of travel. This event had it all, grassroots activist training, a healthcare town hall rally in front of the Capitol building, amazing speakers like Newt Gingrich and many others and most important of all 2000 fired up citizen activist from AFP’s 25 chapters all over the country. They were looking for people to start up chapters in the other states, maybe I should offer to start up and Australian chapter (there propably will be thousands of new members as soon as the film comes out. The only thing is what do we call ourselves? Australians For Prosperity? Australians For American Prosperity? So many options. But seriously, these guys are without a doubt the most organized group I have encountered and through my conversations with participants I really got a sense of the passion and diversity of different members of the group. As usual I haven’t got any video to show you yet but I promise it is coming eventually. Wow I feel so energized now, and 10 times stronger in my conviction that what I am helping to document is just the start of a true peaceful peoples revolution. I only wish we in Australia were so passionate about our founding fathers. However considering that our founding fathers were convicts sent over from England maybe it wouldn’t be such a good idea. Goodbye friends.

Categories

